Press

“Loving a Grandpa Right Down to his Toes.” New York Times. 24 January 2016. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2016/01/24/loving-a-grandpa-right-down-to-his-toes/

“Schedule Wonder.” New York Times. 24 April 2015. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/04/24/schedule-wonder/

“Blue-haired Bingo in Footie Pajamas.” New York Times. 25 December 2014. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/12/25/blue-haired-bingo-in-footie-pajamas/

“Lessons in living, while dying, from Pop.” New York Times. 16 November 2014. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/11/16/ogburn-tk/

“Unexpected Family Love.” Brain Child. September 2014. http://www.brainchildmag.com/2014/09/unexpected-family-love/

“When the Price of Being Right in Raleigh is Loss of Community.” News and Observer. 23 September 2014. http://www.newsobserver.com/2014/09/23/4176235_when-the-price-of-being-right.html?rh=1

“An Education of the Heart: The Glenwood Towers Senior Center Prom.” New York Times. 27 June 2014. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/06/27/an-education-of-the-heart-the-glenwood-towers-senior-center-prom/

“It’s the Time You Spend on an Elementary School That Makes It Special (and Hard to Leave).” 23 May 2014. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/05/23/its-the-time-you-spend-on-an-elementary-school-that-makes-it-special-and-hard-to-leave/

“Learning to Set a Goal for the Long Run.” New York Times. 18 April 2014. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/04/18/learning-to-set-a-goal-for-the-long-run/

“How Running Changed Me.” Runner’s World. 14 April 2014. http://www.runnersworld.com/runners-stories/how-running-changed-me-liisa-ogburn

“Show Celebrates One Mother at a Time.” Carolina Parent. 9 April 2014. http://www.carolinaparent.com/articlemain.php?Show-Celebrates-Triangle-Mothers-One-Story-at-a-Time-4073

“Commentary on Work-Related: A Coal Miner’s Story.” Academic Medicine. April 2014. http://journals.lww.com/academicmedicine/Citation/2014/04000/Commentary_on_Work_Related___A_Coal_Miner_s_Story.24.aspx

“A Lesson on the Power of Telling Stories.” Women AdvaNCe. 29 January 2014. http://womenadvancenc.org/listen-to-your-mother-a-lesson-on-the-power-of-telling-stories/

“Historic Oakwood: A Stories Past, A Storied Present.” Walter Magazine. 29 November 2013. http://www.waltermagazine.com/historic-oakwood-a-storied-past-a-storied-present/

“Children With Learning Disabilities Don’t Need More Opportunity to Fail.” New York Times. 15 October 2013. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/10/15/children-with-learning-disabilities-dont-need-more-opportunity-to-fail/

“Storytellers Preserving Rich History of Raleigh’s Downtown Oakwood Neighborhood.” WRAL. 13 August 2013. http://www.wral.com/storytellers-preserving-rich-history-of-raleigh-s-oakwood-neighborhood/12772814/

“Meet Liisa Ogburn.” Triangle Mom2Mom: The News & Observer. 3 June 2013.  http://www.trianglemom2mom.com/2013/06/03/2930121/meet-liisa-ogburn.html

“Listen to Your Mother: Presenting This Year’s Cast.” http://www.listentoyourmothershow.com/raleighdurham/2013/03/18/presenting-the-2013-cast-of-listen-to-your-mother-raleigh-durham/

“Runner Moms: Nice Mommy When I Run; Watch Out When I Don’t.” WRAL. 4 April 2013. http://www.wral.com/runner-moms-nice-mommy-when-i-run-watch-out-when-i-don-t/12260656/

“Stop Type-casting Overweight Kids.” Psychology Today. 24 January 2013. http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/birth-babies-and-beyond/201301/stop-typecasting-overweight-kids

“Postpartum Depression: What to Expect When the Unexpected Happens.” New York Times. 2 October 2012. http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2012/10/02/postpartum-depression-what-to-expect-when-the-unexpected-happens/

“Why Doctors Should Shoot.” Huffington Post. 22 June 2012. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/randi-hutter-epstein/documenting-medicine_b_1610013.html

“Doctors Who Shoot: Seeing Patients Through A New Lens.” Psychology Today. 18 June 2012. http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/birth-babies-and-beyond/201206/doctors-who-shoot

“Documenting Duke Medicine.” Duke Medicine Magazine. April 2012.

Ogburn, Liisa. “Becoming Oakwood.” News & Observer 10 Dec 2011 (http://www.newsobserver.com/2011/12/10/1700854/becoming-oakwood.html)

Statio, Frank. “If This Old Neighborhood Could Talk.” UNC Public Radio The State of Things. 9 Dec 2011. (http://wunc.org/tsot/archive/If_This_Old_Neighborhood_Could_Talk.mp3/view)

Specter, Julian. “A Healing Lens: Doctors and Patients Explore Healing Lens Through Photography.” The Duke Chronicle 10 November 2011. (http://dukechronicle.com/article/healing-lens-doctors-and-students-explore-patient-experience-through-photography)

Gergen, Christopher and Stephen Martin. “Documenting Medicine to Make Deeper Connections.” News & Observer 04 Sep. 2011 (http://www.newsobserver.com/2011/09/04/1456759/documenting-medicine-to-make-deeper.html)

Sprei, Doug. “A Sense of Empowerment.” Learning Ally Website. 13 July 2011. (http://www.learningally.org/Blog/Access-and-Achievement/144/vobId__4623/)

McDonald, Glenn. “Photos Examine Marriage Through Courthouse Weddings.” News & Observer 30 Sept 2010 (http://www.newsobserver.com/2010/09/30/710079/photos-examine-marriage-through.html)

Offen, Neil. “A Project to Give Voice to the Homeless.” Durham Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.com/view/full_story/10551894/article-A-project-to-give-voice-to-homeless)

Hartsoe, Steve. “Service Learning Course Puts a Face on Homeless: Students Develop Relationships and Produce Documentaries.” Duke Today 8 Dec 2010. (http://today.duke.edu/2010/12/homeless.html )

Posting your comment...

Leave A Comment


Subscribe to this comment via Email

  • "It’s not about statistics. It’s about using individual stories to create that connection, that empathy. Then, rational arguments, like numbers, can play a supporting role."
    - Nicholas Kristof

    "When you’re lost in a good story, it’s not arbitrary, it’s not pleasure for pleasure’s sake. It’s biological, it’s chemical, it’s a survival mechanism."
    - Author Lisa Chron

    "Stories are powerful because they transport us into other people’s worlds but, in doing that, they change the way our brains work and potentially change our brain chemistry — and that’s what it means to be a social creature."
    - Neuroscientist Paul Zak

    "Listening is an act of love."
    - David Isay, StoryCorps

http://www.wiredforstories.com/wp-content/themes/press